Prayer

Ask and Receive

~  If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer ~ Matthew 21:22 (NIV)


When my husband and I moved to our trailer in 2011 that we lived in until 2015, when we moved to another city so we can attend college, it had all of the large appliances, including a broken built-in dishwasher, which we planned to replace sometime in the future, and a washer and dryer set. Slowly after the move, the washer and dryer began to have problems and one day, they stopped working altogether.

For the next several months, while I was looking around at the local area For Sale groups on Facebook and praying for a used washer and dryer to become available, we ended up doing our laundry at the Laundromat.

Sometime later, the prayer for a washer and dryer has been answered. One day, my mother-in-law texted me and asked if we needed a washer and dryer that my sister-in-law is planning to give away if we need it. I told Mom that we do need it and it was not the only answer of the prayer. She also asked if we also need a dishwasher that my sister-in-law also has, and even though I was not specifically praying for one at that time, I also told her that we do want it.

Even though I asked the Lord for just a washer and dryer for us to do our laundry, He also provided us with a portable dishwasher because I believe that He knows that we need a dishwasher as well as a washer and dryer. All one got to do is just believe that the Lord will provide when asking in prayer and they will receive it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Lord, I know that you are the provider of my needs. The next time that I have a need, no matter how big or small, I will ask you to provide the need at the right timing. I will seek both grace and thanksgiving during that time. In your name, I pray. Amen.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What was the one time that you ask the Lord for something that you need? How did the Lord respond to your request? How did you respond? During your time of prayer, did you believe that the Lord will provide? Why or why not?

7 thoughts on “Ask and Receive”

  1. You know I think it’s difficult for me to stand on the ask & receive when it comes to my needs outside spiritual things. But I so believe that God wants us to bring all things to Him. It works on our heart condition, whether He chooses to bless us with those things or not. But I also believe that there are times when He’s so happy to shower blessings on us, things that would just make our life less stressful. Thank you for sharing this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

